Colorado Interagency Working Group on School Safety

Mission & Duties

In response to Senate Bill 2020-023 and House Bill 2022-1274, the Colorado Interagency Working Group on School Safety (aka, the School Safety Working Group) has been formed and work has begun. The mission of the Working Group is to enhance school safety through cost-effective use of public resources. Statutory mandates include:

  • Study and implement recommendations of the state auditor's report regarding school safety released September 2019
  • Consider program organization and recommend reorganization if necessary
  • Identify shared metrics to examine program effectiveness
  • Facilitate interagency coordination and communication
  • Increased transparency and accessibility of state grants and resources, particularly for school districts without a grant writer, which includes improving outreach and may include developing common grant applications
  • Facilitate and address data sharing, including allowable data sharing at the local level, when appropriate and allowable under state and federal law
  • Address school safety program challenges in a coordinated way

Next Meeting

Tuesday, June 27, 2023 - 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. 

Check back for meeting materials.


Stan Hilkey, Chair, Department of Public Safety

Christina Monaco, Vice-chair, Colorado Department of Education 

Sgt. Nathan Businger, Moffat County Sheriff's Office

Chris Brunette, Division of Fire Prevention & Control

John Castillo, School Safety Advocate, Kendrick Castillo's father

Cheri Gerou, Office of the State Architect

Chris Harms, School Safety Resource Center

Chief Dave Hayes, Estes Park Police Department

Jill Hunsaker Ryan, Department of Public Health & Environment

Bret Miles, Colorado Association of School Executives (CASE)

Gretchen Russo, Department of Human Services 

Press Releases